New Orleans we hardly knew ye

Swamps are a big part of Louisiana, and touring options are plentiful. Being somewhat fond of wildlife we opted for a slower boat ride over the faster air boats, for a chance to see some of the locals up close and personal. Birds, turtles and gators was the view of the day, the more furry inhabitants only come out in the “winter”. Many people have cabins in the swamp, which I definitely would have had if I lived in these parts.

Off looking for gators.

Off looking for gators.

Who knew gators liked marshmallows.

Who knew gators liked marshmallows.

The Honey Island swamp.

The Honey Island swamp.

Afterwards we went for a stroll around the non-tourist part of New Orleans where tourists are warned not to go after dark. And I can understand why that is. First, there’s really nothing to see there, and second, the locals are pretty shabby looking. And it made me realize that I don’t much like how “tourist areas” are seen as a bad thing. Having been around a lot of non-tourist areas I have to say that if there is something to see, people will come to see it. And if there’s nothing to see, why go there at all? That said, New Orleans needs a face-lift when it comes to tourism. It seems to settle for mediocrity in many areas, and fall somewhere between authentic and tourist friendly while failing at both. Shopping is also non-existent unless you want cheap crap, which on the other hand is plentiful.

French Quarter.

French Quarter.

That said, the French Quarter, which is the reason why people travel to New Orleans in the first place, is just as awesome as promised if you stay off Bourbon street. While the city struggles with high crime rates, there is a lot of police in the streets which I see as a good thing. While I am not a food tourist the chow was excellent, and I went through the gumbo, jambalaya, cajon and crawfish signature dishes.

The infamous Bourbon street.

The infamous Bourbon street.

For our last evening we went for drinks in the French Quarter, dropping by two bars before calling it a night. Early day today, seeing as we are going all the way to Texas and dropping by a plantation on the way. Not having time to blog last night or before we left, Kristine got the wheels while I’m blogging from the back seat. I’ll see if we can leech some access off one of these motels so I can post this.

