Texas: Home of the Beast

So, Texas. Cowboys, guns, horses, dust and oil. Home of tex-mex and the Bush clan, among other things. With Helen as our guide we headed back to the Stockyard for a closer look at things, getting some pictures and checking out some cowboy stuff. The Stockyard hails back to when the livestock industry was a big part of the Texas economy, and it’s been preserved as an historic attraction. A pretty cool place if you’re into this kind of thing, which I just happens to be. I also got to ride a mechanical bull, but it didn’t have a timer so I couldn’t earn any bragging rights.

mmm.. western.

mmm.. western.

Main street.

Main street.

I so do not have the right muscles for this.

I so do not have the right muscles for this.

Next up, gun show! This strange American tradition where gun retailers show off their wares and people can get a gun without having to wait for a background check is both loved and hated, depending on who you ask. Chances are I could have walked out of there with a gun if I wanted to. Helen picked up a stun gun, Kristine got a pepper spray as stun guns are illegal in Norway as far as I know.

A small part of a rather large area. They even sold Nazi artifacts there.

A small part of a rather large area. They even sold Nazi artifacts at some of the booths.

Quite a spectacle.

Quite a spectacle.

After that we went downtown into the center of Fort Worth, where there really isn’t much to see. Walked around for a bit, then went to a tex-mex restaurant where we hooked up with Schubert. Sundays tend to be quiet just about everywhere, and after a long day of experiences we went to see Up, which was cool even though I find the whole 3D thing to be gimmicky and rather annoying.

